The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

Posted: May 28, 2014 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The Da Vinci Code The Da Vinci Code is  much discussed controversial book of Dan Brown. Believe it or not, last December I started this book  and just couldn’t finish it. I quit hundred times before I finally  finished the book. I really don’t know what was the big hype about but this is surely not what I expected. I liked Angels and Demons better, that’s the first Dan Brown book I read.

Symbologist Robert Langdon was supposed to meet Jacques Sonier one night and instead, he gets called to the Louvre, the scene of Sonier’s horrific death. French police officer, Fache, thinks that Langdon is the murderer. Fortunately, Sophie  intervenes to shunt Langdon away. And then they are off, trying to avoid being arrested, trying to find the “Grail”, and trying to discover who killed Sonier. Now what is this Grail and what is the secret Jacques Sonier was trying to protect even on his deathbed?

Spoilers ahead*

This book has been quite controversial.A lot of Christian and Catholic churches were not happy about the claims Dan Brown makes in this book example how Jesus married Mary Magdalene and how the Church was manipulative in hiding that fact. I am not from this religion so I don’t know much about this. I don’t know if Jesus was married, tradition has it that he was not. I don’t think if you have real faith in someone his marital status will not affect your faith. And more than anything this is just a fictional crime novel which revolves around religion.

My Rating: 2 out of 5. I didn’t like Langdon in this book. He spent a lot of time talking about history, symbols, sacred femininity. This book was boring with a capital ”B”.

Comments
  1. Ste J says:

    It was a terrible book, agreed! The lack of research was staggering and it was very flawed, I’m glad I am not alone in not liking it,

  2. I agree with you here but I read it anyway. I liked his “Digital fortress” but that was bit drag as well.

  3. […] The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown […]

Leave a comment