The Giver by Lois Lowry (The Giver,#1)

Posted: June 13, 2017 in Fiction, Suspense, Young Adults

I don’t know how I missed out on this book for so many years? I love YA, that too dystopian books are my favorite. The Giver by Lois Lowry is the first book in ‘The Giver’ series and in 2014 it was made into movie. I have watched the movie, but as usual I liked the book better.

download

Jonas lives in colorless and ideal community where questioning is not allowed. He is content to live there until he receives his life assignment as the receiver of memory. He comes to know the ancient way of life and hidden secrets which were kept from community. He starts to see the bleak and uninteresting existence they are following blindly.

I liked this book, the concept is very interesting and fast moving. As soon as I finished the book I wanted to read the second installment. My rating: 3 out of 5. Its been 3 years, now I don’t exactly remember why I gave this book 3 in spite of liking it. I guess I was bit disappointed with characters.

Leave a Reply

