My Childhood memories of Mowgli and The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Children's books, Fiction
Tags: , , , ,

I Love “Mowgli”, in my childhood days I was keen of watching Jungle book cartoon series which was coming on DD national Chanel on Sunday morning ( somewhere around 9-10, I dont remember exactly 😦 ) I liked every character in Jungle book and never missed one episode.

Jungle Book meant Mowgli to me and  I was not aware that there are other stories too. I liked the Hindi version of Mowgli title song it goes like this- Jungle jungle baat chali hai pata chala hai… Chaddi pahan ke phool khila hai.

The Jungle Book review:

 I hadn’t realized until now that The Jungle Book is actually a number of short stories and songs or verses. When I was young, I expected the whole book to be about Mowgli. But when I read now surprisingly I found myself not disappointed because I knew its not only about Mowgli. I enjoyed other stories as mush as I enjoyed Mowgli’s story. Its a children’s book but I would not say its only for Children because It is a book that will appeal to and entertain children but it has the most beautiful language and invention to satisfy reader without age difference. The songs are well rhymed and meaningful.

There are stories of white seal, Mongoose, Elephants and other animals. What I liked the most is there is a good concept behind every stories. I would not call it as a moral, but its good concept. I liked the way author described the monkeys, the bhandar log kidnapping Mowgli and their lost mind that they cant concentrate on a single thing for too long. White seal story is very interesting. I recommend this book, its good to step into the chidhood memories once in a while! I am planning to read “The Second Jungle Book” soon.

Comments
  1. I love The Jungle Book too. Did you ever see the 1994 Disney movie? I thought it was pretty good – definitely better than the 5.8 out of 10 rating it gets here. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110213/

  2. 7theaven says:

    I spent my childhood watching Lion King, Pokemon, reading Famous Five(all of them!) and Secret Seven!

  3. Balu says:

    Fabulous review. I’m a great fan of Mowgli…of course everyone in India likes him…I used to watch it on Sundays and spend the whole next day talking about it in school 🙂
    btw.. Mowgli must have grown up now. Y don’t we have another part with the grow up Mowgli ?? 😀

  4. SanVar says:

    Hey i love Mowgli too…Sundays were such a treat !!!! 😉

  5. Beverly says:

    Love this. Thanks.

  6. The Jungle Book is the book I enjoyed the most – ever. I also really like Kipling’s Puck Of Pook’s Hill (more short tales) and after The Jungle Book I think I admire the story about the Roman Centurian more than anything ever written. Ah! – I just remembered that there’s a nice Kipling story called In the Rukh that tells us what Mowgli did when he was older.

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks.. I want to read that someday. I like Mowgli a lot.. Anything related to Mowgli, I am ready to read 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog and letting me know about more books.

  7. Hi, Glad you liked our post. If you love reading then visit our Reading page:

    Reading

    Cheers

    STB

  8. a.kumar says:

    mowgli……….
    ……..
    ………
    :::::::::::::
    🙂 🙂 🙂
    old
    sweet
    sweet
    sweet
    memories

Leave a comment