The Zahir”All you have to do is to pay attention; lessons always arrive when you are ready, and if you can read the signs, you will learn everything you need to know in order to take the next step”

-Paulo Coelho, The Zahir

Another novel by Paulo Coelho, my favorite author. This book was nothing like I expected. I was expecting a lot of inspiration and new thins to learn from this book but unfortunately I was disappointed. End was not that fulfilling and I was not connected to the main characters like how I usually do with the main characters of Paulo Coelho’s books. The Sufi concept mentioned in this book was good and as I already did my small research on the subject while reading ”The Forty Rules of Love”  by the author- Elif Shafak, it was easy to understand. It is a new concept but usual Paulo Coelho thing was missing from this story.

The narrator of ”The Zahir” is a best selling novelist and enjoys his life. While he is busy enjoying his life with money and celebrity status, his wife of ten years a war correspondent disappears with her friend Mikhail. Was she kidnapped, murdered or just escaped with lover? no one knows. But one day narrator finds out this Mikhail and the door to whole new truth about his wife opens.

It is good read, but I personally did’t like it much. May be I was expecting too much from this book. My rating: 2 out of 5. As a hard core fan of Paulo Coelho I have decided to read his all novels so one ‘not that good book’ can’t change my decision.

Comments
  1. […] The Zahir by Paulo Coelho (purplebooky.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment