The haunting hill house”The Haunting of Hill House” by Shirley Jackson was first published in 1959. What made me pick this book was very promising synopsis and a classic, gothic touch to it.  I love gothic fiction and the descriptions of creepy, unsettling hill house was just perfect. But somehow by the middle of the book I lost my interest. It was more of a mad roller coaster than a horror house story.

In The Haunting of Hill House, Dr Montague, an occult scholar, has gathered with three individuals selected for evidence of psychic abilities, in the old unoccupied mansion with its sad history of deaths, including suicide. The Doctor hopes to find solid evidence for what is called “haunting”. But the house is waiting patiently and planning to choose one person to control and make one of its own.

 It was creepy in the beginning but then turned into a story about a young mentally unstable woman losing her mind. I Don’t see any logical explanations for the things they see or at least they think they have seen. There are lot of unexplained things and its upon readers to decide if the haunting was real or just imaginary. My rating: 2 out of 5. I have seen a lot of good reviews but I couldn’t make myself to enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

