Scott Pilgrim Vol 1Lately it seems that I have been getting the hang of graphic novels. After reading Saga I couldn’t control myself from wanting more of it. As I couldn’t get my hands on Saga volume 3 I decided to read Scott Pilgrim, a highly rated and recommended book in Goodreads. But I was very disappointed in this first installment of the series. I didn’t like the main character, Scott Pilgrim. It”s difficult to get involved in a story when you instantly take a dislike to the main character.

Scott Pilgrim, is a 23 year old wanna-be musician who’s dating a 17 year old high school student named Knives. He has no job and shares room with roommate where they literally share everything including bed(that is weird!) He keeps having dreams about another girl, whom he later sees in real life. Her name is Ramona Flowers a delivery girl, recently shifted there in the neighborhood. Scott becomes obsessed with her and cheats on his girlfriend, but being with Ramona is not that easy. Over the course of the series, he has to fight and defeat her 7 ex- boyfriends to get to be with her.

Ramona’s character was bit strange, coming in dreams was creepy. On the other hand Scott’s 17 year girlfriend was much likable and energetic. The thing about Ramona’s ex-boyfriends having to be defeated I don’t get it at all. She’s already dumped them, or they’ve dumped her, so why would they care if Scott wants to go out with her. That doesn’t make scene now does it? My rating: 2 out of 5. Art was real bummer here,a lot of characters looked so much alike. I am having second thoughts about continuing the series but at the same time I want to know if there is any agenda between these fights.

Leave a Reply

