The Devil and Miss Prym by Paulo Coelho

Posted: May 14, 2014 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The devil and miss prymI have been reading a lot of young adult novels lately and my blog looks like purely YA book reviewing blog. I am on the quest to finish as many series as I can so that I can read other books in peace. I regret for starting so many series but glad that I am slowly finishing it. I picked up one of my favorite authors- Paulo Coelho’s book for a change and enjoyed as usual. What I like about his book is that he presents ideas more than the stories. I absolutely adore his writing style and philosophical view.

The basic premise is that a stranger comes to a small town. He speaks to Miss Prym, the local barmaid and tells her his plan. He wishes to offer the villagers enough gold to last for generations. All they have to do is murder one of their own. How the villagers choose will answer for the stranger whether people are basically good or basically evil. But Miss Prym is in dilemma here because she can’t accept his proposal and become a murderer but she can’t keep people away from this proposal becuase if they come to know that such an opportunity is gone from their hands they are surely going to blame her.

This story is perfect to understand the evil and good and which way today’s humanity is heading. Even though I wanted to give 4 I ended up rating it 3 after completing the book. Its a must read for Paulo Coelho fans.

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    I think I might have to sprinkle some Coelho back into my schedule. I have a few of his on my shelf to be read!

  2. Ste J says:

    Sounds intriguing, I would also recommend Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia-Márquez as well for a look at the human condition.

  3. I love this book one it’s one of my favourites. I love Veronika Decides to Die by him as well. Fantastic book, if you haven’t read it I recommend it.

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I have read Veronica Decides to die and liked it very much. Glad to to know some one, who loved the book as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

