The Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coelho

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The winner stands alone Its hard to give harsh review for Paulo Coelho’s book, being his fan I just can’ do it. But I have to because thats my job being a hardcore fan. I had been looking forward to read this book and when I got the opportunity to read, I am just disappointed. If this is about to be your first Paulo Coelho book,  please don’t read it, I assure you he is an author who is capable of much more than this. Simply by reading this book you may spoil your perception of him as an author.Having read his books like – ”Brida”, ”The Alchemist”, ”The fifth mountain”, ”Veronica decides to die”, ”By the river Peidra I sat down and wept” and many more I decided to read ”The Winner Stands Alone”. I was totally into this title and was expecting a good story and a lot to learn about life from this book. But later regretted my decision of reading this book.

When I started to read this book, in the beginning I was amused but slowly amusement started to turn in to frustration. First I was reading about a person who is emotionally suffering and  wants to get his wife back in his life at any cost. But then it was about everything- fashion industry, film distribution, diamond extraction, cloth manufacturing and what not. Repetitive complaining and mindless deeds took my imagination nowhere. I couldn’t imagine this characters  as living and full of feelings as I usually do while reading other books from this author. These were plain and annoying bunch of people who didn’t know what to do with their life. Story is about a rich man named Igor who is in Cannes festival in search of his wife who is remarried and happily living with some other man. Igor wants his wife back by taking lives and showing her how much he likes her. At first I thought it was little mystery crime story or about psycho killer or about celebrity life but it was nothing but boring. I still don’t understand what is the hidden meaning behind this story, I don’t see any moral or inspiration in what Igor did or I don’t see how the title is suitable for the story.

Somehow I was obliged to finish the book because I hate to leave books half read or  maybe I was just hoping against all the odds that through some miracle the story will take a twist and ending will justify the means. But that didn’t happen, I am not saying his every book should contain some moral or inspiration but at least it should have a decent story to read. My rating 2 out of 5. I wanted to give 1 but then I could’t do that to my favorite author’s book.

Comments
  1. easyondeyes says:

    Unfortunately, I’ve found this true of quite a few of Coelho’s works. You should, however, try The Devil and Miss Prym. I remember it being quite brilliant in its sheer simplicity.

Leave a Reply

