the forty rules of love

“If we are the same person before and after we loved, that means we haven’t loved enough.”

-Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love

I don’t have words to express how much I love this wonderful, fantastic and amazing book. I couldn’t control myself from giving 5 out of 5 for this book. Oh God, can anyone write this well? This is follow-up to this authors 2007 novel, The Bastard of Istanbul, which I didn’t get to read till now. But I am definitely going to read her other books soon.

Ella Rubenstein is forty years old and unhappily married with a man who has affairs outside the marriage and children who don’t appreciate for what she does.  When she takes a job as a reader for a literary agent, her first assignment is to read and report on Sweet Blasphemy, a novel written by a man named Aziz Zahara. Even though she is in no mood to read something when her personal life is falling apart and her own people are drifting away from her, soon she finds herself involved in the book Sweet Blasphemy. Where she learns about the encounter and transforming love between Rumi and the wandering dervish Shams i-Tabriz in 1240. And slowly she starts loving this man who wrote the book.  As she reads on, she realizes that Rumi’s story mirrors her own and that Zahara—like Shams—has come to set her free. She realizes the forty rules of love.

Sufi's dancing

                                                                                                        * Image : from Internet

Sufi story in the background is pretty amazing. I was not aware of interesting facts about Sufi’s inside the Islam religion but because of this book I did a lot of research on Internet and got plenty of information. I felt strange happiness after reading this book which I usually get after reading Paul Coelho’s books. Something divine, spiritual and inspiring. I highly recommend this book.

Like-Cat

Comments
  1. Fay says:

    I have never read a Paul Coelho book nor one by Elif Shafak I think these are two new authors I may add to my 2014 list to read! Great post 😀

  2. Loved this book to bits and have lost count of the number of friends to whom I’ve recommended it. My thoughts are in here,
    http://ruminateatleisure.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/the-forty-rules-of-love-by-elif-shafak/

    • Deepika says:

      I read your review on this book, we both share similar feeling for this novel and Rumi’s poems. Glad to see someone who enjoyed this book as much as I did 🙂 I am planning to read more books from this author now.

Leave a Reply

