The Immortals of Meluha by Amish Tripathi (Shiva Trilogy # 1)

Posted: July 30, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Immortals of Meluha I wanted to read ”The Immortals of Meluha”from a long time as I heard lot about this book everywhere. This Shiva Trilogy is a massive hit. Lord Shiva is the god who is the creator and destroyer of the world. I always loved Indian Mythology, god and goddess stories because that was like my fairy tale In my childhood. As I am from a Brahmin family I grew up learning about Veda’s and Shlokas. So when I heard that there is  book about Lord Shiva naturally I was curious to read it.

This story starts with the situation long after Lord Rama’s death. When Lord Rama was there there was a system in society, where equality and hard work was there among people. But after his death people changed. Surya vamshi’s and Chandra Vamshis started fighting each other. But according to prophecy, Lord Mahadev will return in the form of Refugee and after drinking somras ( god’s drink) his trout will turn blue and he will save humanity. Shiva is a refugee from Himalaya’s. He is a warrior with a past that haunts him .Leader of the Guna clan who has been suddenly thrust into limelight in this strange land where people think he can solve all their problems. Just as he is trying to get a grip of it , he falls head over heels in love with a woman who appears to be out of his reach.Surya vamshi’s claim that Chandra vamshi’s  are bad people with Naga’s support they are trying to destroy them. Whose side will Shiv take? Is he really Lord Mahadev’s form? What is it all about?

In this book you can see same names from Mythology  are given to the characters ,use of Lord Shiva’s story to make up the plot line 10 times more interesting. There are lot of reviews stating negative about this book and about usage of Lord Shiva’s name. But if you read this book you can clearly see how he is a normal person with lot of issues and not god! No one is perfect and no one becomes lord just by doing nothing.

I recommend this book to people who are interested in Indian mythology. But then I think you might find it little difficult to read if you are not aware of the real story about real Lord Shiva. But then this book has meanings for lots of words you might come across for the first time. So it won’t be that difficult if you seriously want to read this book. My rating: 4 out of 5. Two other books from trilogy: The Secret of Naga’s and The oath of Vayuputhra’s .

Comments
  1. I have somehow steered cleared of this series, heard the third one is awful

    • Deepika says:

      Is it? No idea about the third book! So far I liked what I read in the first book. Already I have bought 2nd and 3rd book. Will give sometime to other books before I start reading this series again..

  2. Nish says:

    I too have heard not so good things about this series. Based on your review, maybe I should give it a try.

Leave a Reply

