Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding (Bridget Jones#1)

Posted: July 27, 2013 in Fiction, Young Adults
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bridget Jones's diaryIt is a funny chick lit, diary of Bridget Jones. In this book humor is too high, I found myself laughing and chuckling most of the time ( not to under estimate the fact that I read this book in my office breaks, trying to grab everyone’s attention with my weird laughter) But this book was worth it! Practically somethings may seem impossible to happen in someone’s life but what do you expect, you are reading a fiction, not autobiography.

Bridget Jones is one lady in her thirties, who is asked by her mother and every possible person about her marriage and getting settled. They try to fix her with a divorced man but he too finds her not datable. But Bridget is not bothered becuase she has crush on her boss. Once they starts to go out everything seems normal to her. But then some men are not to be believed. This book is entirely about Bridget Jones and her life’s roller coaster.

Some of the samples from diary:

  1. ”Come on, let’s get you a drink. How’s your love life, anyway?Oh God. Why can’t married people understand that this is no longer a polite question to ask? We wouldn’t rush up to them and roar, “How’s your marriage going? Still have sex?” 
  2. “When someone loves you it’s like having a blanket all round your heart…” 
  3. “Eventually, I manage to cheer Mum up by allowing her to go through my wardrobe and criticize all my clothes…”

My rating: 3 out of 5. This is a good time pass book. There is a movie adaption of this book, by the same name. Planning to watch the movie soon.

Comments
  1. This book was hilarious, but unlike most books I read, I read this one AFTER I saw the movie. I think it helped that I envisioned the dreamy Colin Firth in the “Mr.Darcy” character. I have found that chick lit is less funny now that I’m married, so I wonder whether it would be as funny if I read it now.

  2. Deepika says:

    You are right, as time goes we may not feel the same as we felt while reading it for the first time! I am eager to watch the movie now after you mentioned about ”Mr. Darcy” character 🙂 thanks for sharing your view..

Leave a Reply

