House RulesI think cats have Asperger‘s. Like me, they‘re very smart. And like me, sometimes they simply need to be left alone

– Jacob ”House Rules” by Jodi Picoult

This is the third Jodi Picoult book I’ve read, the first two being “Picture Perfect” and “My Sister’s Keeper”. I liked both the books but one thing I found similar, that is  illness. May be its memory loss as in ”Picture Perfect” or it is leukemia as in ”My sister’s keeper”.  For my surprise ”House Rules” is also about a medical condition and here it is Asperger‘s syndrome. I have read recently a book about autism (”Curious Case of Dog in the Night Time” where the main character has autism) and found similar symptoms. I am not sure if both Asperger‘s and autism falls into same category.

I love the story line in this book, but it seemed to drag on forever! Emma Hunt is single mother taking care of her eighteen-year-old son Jacob who has Asperger‘s and Theo her 15 year old normal son. Asperger’s syndrome, a disorder characterized by a compulsive attachment to order and routine, a tendency to take comments literally, hypersensitivity to bright lights, human touch, and scratchy fabrics, a reluctance to make eye contact, lack of empathy, painful bluntness, and difficulty relating to others. Theo loves his brother but being normal makes him neglected. Jacob is found of crime busters series and loves to set up his own crime scene at home with corn syrup for Emma to find out the crime. He is  not friendly with everyone but he is very close to his tutor Jess. One fine day she goes missing and Jacob is murder suspect. Who killed Jess? Why Jacob was suspected? Will he be able to prove his innocence when he can’t even make eye contact?

Its a time pass story, my rating : 3 out of 5. Wanted to give 2 but the thriller story line increased my rating. Its a good book if you are mystery fan. Book started off well with lot of suspense in it, but sadly by end there was hardly suspense left.

Leave a Reply

