Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler

Posted: March 26, 2013 in Non fiction, Young Adults
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Are you there vodka it's me ChelseaChelsea Handler is a great writer. I have never seen any of her TV shows but I am sure it will be total fun to watch her performing. This book is witty, hilarious and absolute fun, or whatever way you want to describe comedy. I think I love her, she brings out the evil maniacal laugh in me. But everything in here is not mean comedy. I was sitting at my desk at work,  just laughing out loud and generally annoying my co-workers.

There is no proper story line as this book contains the incidents from author’s life. So I am not going to review this book. Here I will mention some hilarious sentences from this book, which made me laugh out loud.

  • “I went out with a guy who once told me I didn’t need to drink to make myself more fun to be around. I told him, I’m drinking so that you’re more fun to be around.”
  • “Obviously, if I was serious about having a relationship with some one long-term, the last people I would introduce him to would be my family.”
  • ”My negotiation skills are are on par with George Bush’s reading ability. And just like Dubya, every time I’ve tried to put forth an effort, I am reminded that my only true strength lies in drinking.”
  •  Our dog, Whitefoot, had died four months earlier, the day after my mother passed away. People say that pets can sense when one of their owners is dead, and I definitely believe that to be true. However, my father has convinced himself that Whitefoot died of a broken heart, when, in fact, I believe it was a suicide. Had we notfound him lying dead next to an empty bottle of Tylenol PM and what appeared to be the beginning stages of a suicide note, I would also have believed he died from sadness. I couldn’t blame Whitefoot. The thought of spending the rest of my life alone with my father would drive me to take my own life too”

My rating : 4 out of 5. Best book to read for time pass and laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

