Memories of a Geisha“The heart dies a slow death, shedding each hope like leaves until one day there are none. No hopes. Nothing remains.”

Memoirs of a Geisha is an amazing novel that discusses the life of a Geisha, a Japanese artist-entertainer. I’d been wanting to read this one for a very long time. I got mixed feelings while reading this book, so many emotions passed through me. I read this book last month and for almost 2 weeks I had hangover!

A slave, sold by your own family, and trained for the sole purpose of pleasuring men, whether you like it or not. Imagine living such a life where you don’t have enough happiness left inside you but still you have to make others happy.Geisha are not prostitutes, the happiness they give is purely from hanging around in tea house with gentlemen who seek their company and poring them tea, Sake and listening to their stories, telling them stories and jokes.

This is a story of a girl Chiyo who was sold into geisha training in Japan. Her struggles to achieve the goal and turn into a geisha. But this story is so unpredictable. Chiyo’s love for Chairman and Nobu’s interest in Chiyo, their customs and traditions to become Geisha is so complicated. I loved all characters even though some characters were real trouble to the main character.

I have watched the movie right after reading the book. In movie they haven’t changed much may be that’s why I liked the movie too. My rating is 4 out of 5 for this book. I recommend this book to fiction lovers.

Comments
  1. otakuffee says:

    I own a copy of the book but I haven’t seen the movie. 😦 I like the story and how it depicts the life of an entertainer known as a geisha. Like others, I was once guilty of associating the term ‘geisha’ to a prostitute. It was through this book that I was able to know what are the other sides that come along with their profession. This is a good book to read. 😀

  2. Geoff W says:

    I remember reading this a long time ago and thought it was beautifully written, but it was an incredibly emotional book. The film was well done, but I thought it was a bit slow in parts, but it was incredibly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

