A Child Called ''It''Get one thing straight, you little son of a b*tch! There is nothing you can do to impress me! Do you understand me? You are a nobody! An It! You are nonexistent! You are a bastard child! I hate you and I wish you were dead! Dead! Do you hear me? Dead!

This book contains very disturbing and unforgettable case of child abuse. It is the first book in ”Dave Pelzer” series. This book is very short read, but believe me  it is not the kind of book that you read for pleasure.

A Child Called “It” is real story of Dave Pelzer’s childhood where he went through severe child abuse by his own biological mother. What kind of mother will make her son sleep in empty stomach? and beat him until he passes out? What kind of mother will come up with new ideas everyday to torture her son? and his father witnessed his son being abused but never once stood up for him? The way the author described his feelings and struggle to get something to eat  was really heartbreaking.

I don’t know if it is a true story of this author, because I have read many reviews stating it is fiction and not at all related to reality! But seriously who cares what it is, child abuse is true and exists! May be not similar one but child abuse is a serious subject. This is a vitally important topic, according to me this book tried to bring the topic to light. My rating 3 out of 5. Recommended for autobiography and non fiction fans, but please be careful about the disturbing contents.

Comments
  1. yerennyca18 says:

    I love this book and the whole series! This actually happened to him and it’s something he talks about. He said that he forgave his siblings for what they did…or did not do. It’s a really emotional book, I read it back in 6th grade and just started crying after a few pages! Have you read any other part?

Leave a Reply

