The Curious Indecent of Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Fiction, Suspense
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Curious incident of dog in the night timeI have no clue why I considered reading this book. I can say 2 reasons now.

1) The upside down dog in the cover page

2) Man Booker Prize nominee for longlist (2003), as now I am obsessed with Booker Prize winner books

I have mixed feelings for this book, I want to really like this book but I cant. I didn’t say that it is not good, but I can’t figure it out why I don’t like it much. It is a story told by an autistic boy which was  incredibly touching for me,  sometimes I was close to cry but more than anything  I felt anger, kind of helpless  feeling through out the book. I really sympathized his parents. Through out this book Christopher,  an autistic boy tells his story. Here he is trying to write a novel, he opts mystery as the subject of the novel and tries to solves the mystery about who killed the  dog from next door. But as he works around it, slowly he solves many mysteries which is part of his own life.

It is well written book with interesting concept in it. It is a wonderful book if you are ready for some serious reading. My rating is : 3 out of 5.

Comments
  1. yerennyca18 says:

    I love this book, read this when I was in 6th grade and it stuck with me, I have to admit Chris made me rather sad at times and sometimes I hate his parents while other times I feel bad for them. Wonderful stories, the dog made me want to pick up the book too.

  2. I actually enjoyed this book, too. I saw it in the library the other day and almost picked it up—I didn’t take it, though, because I already had a pile of 10 books and taking another one would just feel greedy!

    Admittedly, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close was a better, similar book.

  3. Geoff W says:

    I think this one took a good bit to get used to, but I also thought it was well done and interestingly presented. I enjoyed it when I read it, but it’s been quite some time.

Leave a Reply

