Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho

Posted: January 30, 2013 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Veronika Decides to DiePeople never learn anything by being told, they have to find out for themselves.” 

-Paulo Coelho, Veronika Decides to die.

God!I love his writing. When I read his books I transfer into another world. I can feel his books! I would like to read all his books. ”Veronika Decides to Die” has got simple story line but there are lots of lessons to learn.

The protagonist, a young woman named Veronika, attempts to kill herself because she just doesn’t see life getting any more interesting. She doesn’t succeed right away, and ends up in an insane asylum. Where she meets different people suffering fro different kind of mental problems. But slowly she realizes that all of them are not insane, but trying to act like one because they don’t want to go to the out side world where no one agrees with their ideas. She meets this boy who is  schizophrenic son of rich dad and a group of people pretending to be insane. Soon she realizes that there is not much time for her, she is dying soon. Instead of feeling happy she feels confused and sad. Now Veronika doesn’t want to die because she is in love with schizophrenic guy and more than anything she found a way to fall in love with her life.

World always doesn’t welcome new ideas. Some people are called out of their mind or insane for thinking out of the box.   It is very interesting concept. but I predicted the ending 🙂 So Paulo Coelho fans, if you haven’t read this yet, you are really missing a good book. So go ahead and treat yourself with this book.

Comments
  1. otakuffee says:

    I totally agree with you. I collected almost all his works and this particular book stands out. My favorite is still The Alchemist but Veronika Decides Die is definitely a must read. 😀

  2. otakuffee says:

    Reblogged this on otakuffee and commented:
    If you love to read, read this! Its definitely worth your time. ^_^

  3. This book sounds like a good read for adults, but personally, I think the themes are too mature for most young adult readers. What do you think?

    Personally, there’s no way I’d recommend a book with this title to young adults. If the book were renamed, though, I might consider it for the more mature ones.

  4. Ann Jacob says:

    Paulo Coelho’s books have always inspired me. The Alchemist and Veronika Decides to Die are two of my most favourite books of his. I have always loved the way Paulo Coelho writes. His quotes are the most amazing ones.

  5. sfporter says:

    Like you, I am a fan of Paulo Cohelo’s books and Veronika Decides to Die is one of my favorites. Other books that I really enjoyed are The Valkkries, Eleven Minutes and his classic, The alchemist. You’ve posted reviews for a couple of books that I haven’t read, so I’ll have to check them out. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

