Reading Hangover

Posted: December 30, 2012 in Random
Tags: , , ,

Reading Hangover! I get them a lot. Every book can’t give you a hangover. Have your ever felt like living in a book and never return to reality? Even after you finished reading you still think about the books and characters then I am sure you have reading hangover. Which is common and only one medicine is to  read another book 🙂

Reading Hangover

Some of the books which gave me hangover:

  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  • P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern
  • A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks

Book lovers I will be glad to know about your hangovers too, let me know which book gave you a hangover!

Comments
  1. meandjd says:

    Stardust and American gods gave me some, and the last Harry Potter book. It’s that weird thing when you’ve just been taken on this journey with these ups and downs, you’ve basically become an emotional wreck following these characters and you finish this book and you look up to discover the world carried on without you and you have no one you can talk to as no one will understand, and you’re left to morn alone. But i wouldn’t want to not have it.

  2. My two favorite books are To Kill a Mockingbird and Watership Down, they absolutely made me feel that way the first time I read them!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. Oh my god, yes! I have never heard of this before, but this is brilliant. I for SURE got this after Kite Runner, but it’s most notorious for me after series – especially Harry Potter, Narnia, LOTR & this series I read in elementary school – The Incarnations of Immortality (Piers Anthony). I got it (lesser degree) from the new Hunger Games trilogy, too. Thank you for adding this phrase to my dictionary!

  4. A says:

    Oh my gosh! This has happened to me my entire life. When I was little it was Nancy Drew and Sweet Valley High (library only a block away) and as I’ve grown up it’s changed (kindle now). My mom used to have to force me to stop reading because I would get all–well I would say “wigged out”–but surreal is really the right word. Like a walking zombie. (My husband’s comment: no, mummy, because zombies eat people). I think my case is worse than yours, though. I will read an entire book even if it’s a weeknight and it takes until 5 a.m. because I am so swallowed up in it. (Regardless of the fact that I have work tomorrow.) If I get a chance to take a nap later, it’s not usually satisfying, or I have weird dreams. My books of choice are usually dystopian love stories or paranormal action/love stories, (ok well every book I read is a love story of some type). You would think this was funny if you knew how much school I’ve been through and what my job is — maybe I should be reading something intelligent and thought-provoking, but I go for the escapist romances all the time. I found this post by googling “reading hangover” because I wanted to know if I was the only one. I wish there was a support group for this!

Leave a Reply

