Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake (Anna, #1)

Posted: November 3, 2012 in Fiction, Horror, Paranormal Romance, Young Adults
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Anna dressed in blood”Anna Dresses in Blood”, I was thrilled when I read this name! It is a creepy name for a novel, but then horror novels should have something creepy  and scary about them 🙂

First time I read a novel about ghosts and I totally liked it, no I loved it. I don’t know how to describe the feeling, I got chills all over my body while reading it. Have you ever felt hair rise on the back of your neck when you listen some noise in empty house? Or did you ever felt that there is somebody looking at you or standing beside you when you are alone at room? In my childhood I have heard many stories about some haunted places or houses ( may be that is the reason why I am scared to be alone at nights 🙂 )

Among the ghost stories I have heard from my childhood I can relate many stories to this novel. One story goes like this-  There was a lady,every night who waited for taxi in a place where there were less vehicles and people at mid night. Poor taxi driver will stop when he sees this lady, feeling pity for her, he will give a ride to destined place. This  beautiful lady will start talking, taxi driver attracted to her beauty will keep talking too. But after certain time she will stop talking, when the driver will turn back or look at her face in mirror he will find a ugly, bleeding, scary face instead of beautiful face. Then next day people will find this taxi driver lying near some bush or tree, dead! That used to happen to every taxi driver who stopped for that lady. I was very scared after listening to this story for many months.

Now about this novel, Theseus Cassio kills ghosts. Not just any ghosts,only the ghosts that harm other people. Like I said in my story. He inherited this ability from his father who died mysteriously when Cas was seven. But he knows who killed his dad! After 10 years Cas comes to Thunder Bay, Ontario, with his mom in search of a ghost called Anna dressed in blood. Anna, as a young lady, who was murdered in 1958 and now she haunts the house in which she lived and kills everyone who dares to enter. But when Cas goes there she doesn’t do anything to him. Instead of killing her he is fascinated by her! It seems like for some reason she can’t harm him. But he has to face something which was waiting for him from a long time other than killing Anna. What is this problem? Will he kill Anna or start liking her? Will his mom and his friends will accept the fact that he is in love with a ghost? There is somebody killing out there other than Anna who is that?

This book is well written, spooky and scary. I wanted to give 5 starts then I felt in some places its slow so I ended up giving 4 instead.

Leave a Reply

