Why not me?

Posted: October 9, 2012 in Random
Tags: , , , ,

I have been reading a lot lately, as I have plenty of time I don’t know what else to do. It feels good to sit with a book and get lost in another world. I read few remarkable books recently like- ”Before I Go To Sleep” and ”Anna Dressed In Blood” and my reaction was exactly like  the image below which I found in some other blog ( sorry I forgot the name!)

I have been thinking of writing a novel and when I read damn good debut novels like ”Before I Go To Sleep”  my reaction is this. I don’t know anyone can write that great in their first attempt.

Why not meThink I will have to work hard! Its not that easy as reading.

Comments
  1. Kate says:

    It won’t come with your first attempt, but you’ll need that first attempt to get where you want to be! Keep reading brilliant books and asking yourself what you love and what you’d like to emulate, and when you read an unsatisfying book, as yourself what you didn’t like so you know what to avoid. It’s all toward learning!

    • Deepika says:

      I know! It’s your first novel which makes impression.That is why it is hard! You are right, reading helps writing.
      Thanks for sharing your opinion here.

  2. I think the main thing with writing is that you just go out and do it. Yeah, you have to read books to write books (my favorite part is when I read some that is horribly written and pick out things I won’t do when I write based on what I’ve just read), but in order to become great, you have to write constantly and then suffer through hating what you’re putting out. Speaking of which, are you doing NaNoWriMo next month? It’s a great way to at least try writing a novel and to really push yourself. Plus, no one cares if your novel sucks. It’s just like “Of course your novel is terrible, you wrote it in 30 days. Be proud that you did it and fix it later!”

  3. ProfeJMarie (Janet Rundquist) says:

    I agree with above commenters and frompaulwithlove has a great idea with trying out NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)… it is recommended you at least have an outline of sorts before you start and it’s a tough push, but it can, indeed, just be crap. Not a bad place to start.

    Writing is hard, but it is also fun and freeing, too. Just like reading, the more you write, the better at it you will become.

    Expand your blog and share your journey. 😀

Leave a Reply

