That summer by Sarah Dessen My second Sarah Dessen’s novel ”That summer”, first was ”Lock and key”. I have been reading a lot of YA lately, kind of taking a break from supernatural novels. 

That summer is about 15 year old Heaven and her life changing summer. She has many things going on in her life that summer. Her dad is getting married again, her sister is getting married to her new boyfriend, her mother is planing for Europe tour leaving her behind. It is too much to handle at once. Heaven always thought that her sister’s ex boyfriend Sumner was the best among all guys, her sister dated till now, because when he was there their family was in good terms, everyone was happy and laughing when he was around. This summer she meets Sumner and thinks that he can get back her life into shape. Can Heaven get her happiness back? Will this summer change her life or teach her a lesson?  It is all about Heaven’s life in that summer.

A couple of intriguing characters are introduced but never really developed

1) Gwendolyn, the town’s celebrity, who became a model, and turns up back in town one day looking washed up. Heaven kept comparing herself with this model. Even though there are no striking similarities.

2)Casey, Haven’s rebellious best friend who experiments with smoking and dreams of running off with a boy she met at 4-H camp. She was very lively because all other characters seemed little dull to me.

I noticed something similar in both the books I have read by Sarah Dessen, both are about a young teenage girl who wants to find happiness in her life. Like she is beaten up by bad family problems. Its an average time pass book I found little dry and dull. My ratings are- 2 out of 5

Comments
  1. I seriously thought that I was the only person who found that all Sarah Dessen books were similar! I think she’s kind of like Taylor Swift, in which everything she produces is nice, but at the same time it all feels the same. I did like Just Listen though, but I was never compelled to buy another one of her books after purchasing that one because I kind of felt like I owned all the Sarah Dessen books just by owning that one. That being said, I think she’s great, but could do with expanding her variety a tad bit.

  2. Deepika says:

    True! all similar… I liked the Taylor Swift example 🙂

  3. ivydawber says:

    I read ‘Just Listen’ by Sarah Dessen a couple of years ago and really liked it. After hearing your thoughts I may give this a try. Great blog! Thanks 🙂

  4. I completely agree with this review … I own all of the Sarah Dessen books and I really love her as an author … but this particular novel I found very boring. I think my favourites were probably ‘Just Listen’ and ‘Someone like You’. (: ~ Jenna x

Leave a Reply

