A Discovery of WitchesI have been hearing a lot about this book, some said they liked it and some didn’t like the idea of vampires and witches together. Even I feel that Vampires should be the symbol of horror like in Bram Stokers ”Dracula” but I liked reading Stephen Meyer’s ”Twilight series” and Christopher Moore’s vampire-comedy series. A agree that Vampires should be scary but same time I enjoy little vampire romance and humor. You have seen love between vampires and vampires, werewolves and vampires and humans and vampires. This is one step further, love story between a witch and a vampire.

Diana Bishop is a witch who is trying to hide her magic after her parents death thinking magic is the reason for their death. But nothing can be forced to hide when universe decides it to show. Exactly same thing happened with her too, when she got her hands on a manuscript called Ashmole 782 for her study purpose she experienced something strange. But next day she is horrified to see all kind of creatures wandering near the library where she got the book and returned in to. But her life takes a turn when she meets a vampire who protects her from these creatures and dangerous events started over the book. Diana realizes slowly that she is not an ordinary witch but she is a powerful witch with great powers and entire  comity of vampires, witches and demons are searching for her for breaking the law and falling in love with a vampire as well as for wanting to test her extra ordinary powers. What are the rules? What are the powers she got inside her? Who is this vampire helping her? Is he really a trustworthy? you have to read the book for the answers.

I enjoyed reading this book, but the starting was little slow but reasonable scientific reasons and interesting tale of witches and powers are really good. This is the first book I read where witches are associated.

 

Comments
  1. Good review. My wife and I listened to this as an unabridged audio book last summer on a long road trip. There were slow parts but the mysterious powers and manuscript offset that. We downloaded the audio book of the sequel but haven’t started it yet. I like my vampires scary too, but these days it’s hard to be a purist.

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks.. I know its hard to be a purist nowadays 🙂 I am eager to read the second book. I am planning to download it soon.. The first book left a lot to think about so I have high hopes for the sequel 🙂

  2. ProfeJMarie (Janet Rundquist) says:

    I really liked this book, too. I thought it was a bit overlong and the romance a little overdone, but I still got invested in Diana and Matthew and am looking forward to reading the 2nd book.

    • Deepika says:

      I agree with the overdone romance part 🙂 but it was kind of good too.. This is something different from all supernatural novels I have read so far, expecting a lot from the second book now.

Leave a Reply

