The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho

Posted: July 1, 2012 in Fiction, Suspense
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The Witch of PortobelloI have read couple of Paulo Coelho’s books. I am a big fan of his writing. ”The Alchemist” and ”Brida” were wonderful read. When I read his books I don’t just feel like reading a normal book but I experience a kind of joyful journey. It is like travelling to the unseen corners of Universe.

The Witch of Portobello is  a very unique and compelling tale about a girl and her spiritual journey in search of peace. It is written in a very different way. It is written as a series of first person accounts of individuals interactions with unusual heroine Athena aka the Witch of Portobello.I don’t know how to  review this book I don’t get much to tell about the story, when it is told by many. Athena tries to fill the spaces in her life which are very disturbing but when she learns that it is important she becomes spiritual leader. Some people think she is sinner and some think she is saint. She gets lot of followers as well as lots of life threatening warnings. Who is she? What is her life is like? What she achieved to become a spiritual leader? More than that who likes her and who hates her? to know all these answers you should read this book.

Compared to Alchemist it is kind of slow going. But it is very interesting book if you like witch and spiritual stories.

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    Another one on my list that I’m ready to read. Sounds like a good read.

  2. Cherry Boom says:

    oh,it’s bad that i cant read this book. 😦 bored.Whre are you from??I like reading book too.

  3. Deepika says:

    Oh! Its a good book.. you should give it a try 🙂 I am from India.. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. I just finished “The Alchemist” last week. Enjoyed it, but can’t honestly say I was entirely capitivated by it. Even though your review says the witch is slow, I am putting on my to read list.

    And thanks for stopping by my site. Appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

