I Am LegendI Am Legend is  best shortest horror novel ever written. When I picked this to read I was expecting a story about a hero out there somewhere killing Vampire like a legend!  But found out extra ordinary imagination of author and could’t stop reading. I finished this novel in one day!( Its very short novel, 150+ pages)

Imagine, what if you are the only one living  in the whole world but when its night you have to face all living dead ”Vampires” searching for you! Neville is essentially the last man on earth, and the loneliness of his situation is the central part of the story. He roams wherever he wants in day time but during night he locks himself inside his house where it is safe from vampires. He uses all possible methods to keep the vampire away like Garlic, running water etc. You may think what is new in this, we have seen and read about this kind of myths over million times. But this is different because there is a secitific explanation for everything, even the use of garlic or any other substance to keep them away is scientifically described. Here vampirism is  no dark power, its just a disease but very ugly, cruel, blood sucking disease. After being lonely for very long time he finds a women and everything changes. I don’t want to spoil the fun by telling what happens so it is left to readers to read and find out how story goes from here.

I Am Legend Movie

I watched movie based on this novel by the same name- I am legend starring Will Smith. Story is changed in the movie and its not that horrifying compared to the book. I would suggest to read the book before you watch the movie if you are not watched yet. Some parts in the book are scary like group of vampires calling Neville from out side to come out and every day it’s the same thing. I don’t think I would last for even five minutes in such situation! If you are fan of Vampire Novels then go for this book. But I should warn you that it is slow going.

Comments
  1. I saw the movie and liked most of it (except the ending). I should read the book!

  2. Thanks for the reviews of the movie and the book. It sounds like a good read. I am always ready for a good new twist in vampire tales – with the exception of vampire romance, I have to confess. It is scary undead that keep me reading.

  3. Lily Wight says:

    I love this book, between Dracula and Interview with The Vampire it is one of a handful of novels that have defined the whole vampire genre.
    I totally agree with what you said in the last paragraph, the vampires calling Neville’s name night after night is truly terrifying (and sadly missing from the film).
    This book was a huge influence on virus/zombie movies like 28 Days Later. I really recommend you check out a novel by George RR Martin (Game of Thrones author) called Fevre Dream, it’s an overlooked but brilliant little vampire yarn! xx

  4. Deepika says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, I will definitely check for the book.
    I know the vampires calling Neville’s name night after night is missing from the movie, that was real good part of the book! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  5. Bassas Blog says:

    Thanks for the review. Tall person liked the movie. I shall suggest he checks out the book. He likes scary stories.

Leave a Reply

