Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Posted: May 27, 2012 in Classic, Fiction, Romance
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Pride and PrejudiceI have always wanted to read this book, a true classic. Jane Austen is one of the great masters of the English language, and its one of her masterpieces. I enjoyed the book. It was wonderful feeling to read such an old book. Even though I took many days to read this book, I liked it.

I like almost all characters here, especially headstrong Elizabeth and proud Mr. Darcy. They make a good pair together. When the wealthy Mr. Bingley moves to Netherfeld Mrs. Bennet is  certain he will marry one of her girls: Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine, or Lydia. And so one of the greatest love stories ever told begins. More than anything I liked the way author described the society through out the story.

I faced difficulty to understand the heavy English language ( I am so used to simple novels.. I should read classics more often to get a grip on language). While reading sometimes I used audio books too.One thing I noticed is author never describes about places and the interior of houses a lot, it would have been more helpful to know the things from olden days better. But I would surely read more classics it makes me happy.

I am planning to watch movies based on the novel. There are many, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice gets a Bollywood treatment and its called  Bride and prejudice starring Aishwarya Rai  and Martin Henderson.

Comments
  1. It’s my absolute favourite. Actually it’s one of those books you can always keep at your side and read over and over again. I do that a lot. You must watch the movie version starring Keira Knightley. It’s excellent!

  2. Deepika says:

    Thanks for recommending, I will definitely watch!

  3. I’ve seen so many adaptations of Jane Austen books on Masterpiece Theater that I googled and found a whole list of her books that have been adapted to movies or TV:

    Pride and Prejudice: Two movies and three TV adaptations.
    Emma: Two movies, three TV versions, and the inspiration for “Clueless.”
    Sense and Sensibility: One movie, three TV versions.
    Persuasion: One movie, three TV versions.
    Mansfield Park: One movie, two TV shows.
    Northranger Abbey: One movie, one TV show.

    A number of well known actors and actresses have starred in these productions, including, Greer Garson, Lawrence Olivier, Gweneth Paltrow, and Emma Thompson.

    I think watching some of these would be a great way to make your way through the more archaic language in her novels.

  4. Deepika says:

    Thanks.. I will go through this list. It is very helpful.

  5. bitsn'pieces says:

    I have this book lying in my room. It actually belongs to my sister and I’ve never opened it till date. I’ve been wanting to read this from quite sometime, but never did, strange for a person like me I should say 😛 Time to wipe off the dust and read it! 🙂

  6. Deepika says:

    Its a good book, worth reading! I Used to avoid reading classics but I think after reading this I should definitely read more. Hope you will enjoy reading this book! Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

