The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis (The Chronicles of Narnia, #1)

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Children's books, Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The Magicians NephewMy first step towards ”The Chronicles of Narnia” is established. I have read the first book in the chronology of Narnia. It was the sixth book published in  The Chronicles of Narnia series.

It reveals the secrets about the world of Narnia and how it formed. I have already watched the movie based on the book  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe which comes second in chronology and first in series. But after reading this book I came to know of many basic facts.

The Magicians Nephew is a story of two children Polly and Digory who were forced and sent to another world by Digory’s  uncle who knew little magic. From there their journey starts to unknown worlds. They found many worlds and go for exploring it. There they meet a witch who will follow them to the  land of Narnia, just born from the songs of  a lion Aslan. There they witness talking animals, gold growing trees  and many strange things. Digory receives a gift in return to his favor to Alsan before returning to home. What is the favor? Who is this witch? Where will she go from there?  How Narnia was born? It’s an interesting story about magic.

I totally liked the creation of Narnia. It was incredible imagination. I am happy that I decided to read this finally. Its a great fantasy, fiction novel.

Comments
  1. bokkielle says:

    I enjoyed this book; a real fun read 🙂

  2. Geoff W says:

    I told someone else recently that everyone reviewing the Chronicles really made me want to re-read it! And it hasn’t even been a full 5 years since I last re-read it.

    • Deepika says:

      You should try reading it again 🙂 I really enjoyed reading it. I am eager to read remaining books in the chronology.

      • Geoff W says:

        Oh I definitely will! I’ve got them all in one anthology somewhere at my mom’s house. I should really just get that box shipped up to me. I’m looking forward to your other reviews!

  3. nrpramik says:

    I love “The Chronicles of Narnia” and this book is a great introduction to Lewis’ world. I won’t reveal anything that happens in the rest of the series but Lewis brings everything full circle in the last book, “The Last Battle.” It’s a nice touch. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. vicki258 says:

    I love the Chronicles of Narnia. I wouldn’t say The Magician’s Nephew is the best in the series, but it’s a good introduction. The Narnia books are my go to books when I want something quite easy to read where I can lose myself in a different world. I hope you read the rest of the series and enjoy them.

  5. Erin Elizabeth says:

    Awesome! I love these books and read all of them when I was little. I have to admit though, my first book that I loved was The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. I think the book that I really loved reading outside of these Chronicles, was The Screwtape Letters. Glad you are reading these!

Leave a Reply

