Dracula’s Guest and Other Weird Stories by Bram Stoker

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Fiction, Horror
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is collection of short stories. Mainly contains a great collection  of paranormal or supernatural stories from Victorian era, first published in 1914, two years after Stoker’s death. It also contains a deleted first chapter from novel ”Dracula”.

But it took me ‘forever’ to read this book. I kept putting it down and not really wanting to pick it back. I found it little extra detailed about the places, houses and surroundings. But its fascinating and kind of exploration of the origins of the vampire in modern literature. I would recommend this book to patient readers who are ready to read all descriptions even though it seems  unnecessary sometimes.

It includes-

  • “Dracula’s Guest”
  • “The Judge’s House”
  • “The Squaw”
  • “The Secret of the Growing Gold”
  • “A Gipsy Prophecy”
  • “The Coming of Abel Behenna”
  • “The Burial of the Rats”
  • “A Dream of Red Hands”
  • “Crooken Sands”

I should warn you that all stories are not about vampires. Only Dracula’s guest is  vampire related( as it is believed as deleted first chapter from novel ”Dracula”), rest are about different types of supernatural power.

Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Silvia M. Calzada and commented:
    Thanks for your recommendation.

  2. nrpramik says:

    I honestly had no idea Stoker wrote any other works (aside from “Dracula”). Shame on me! Vampries or no vampires, I will definitely have to check these out. I liked his style and overall story execution in “Dracula,” so these make me very curious to see what else Stoker has up his sleeve. By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://beautyandbrainsblogger.wordpress.com/ 🙂

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks for nominating me 🙂
      Bram Stoker had written many novels. After reading his ”Dracula” I started searching for more books and came to know there are 12 more books!

Leave a Reply

