Did you ever imagine that the obedience is biggest curse? Imagine a life where you can’t say ”No”, and you will be obedient to everyone whether you want it or not.  Yes! Its horrible! Ella was gifted with obedience at her birth by a fairy. When people find out about the curse, they quickly learn to use it to their advantage. Obedience means, of course, that Ella must do whatever she is told, as long as it is issued as a command – not doing so causes physical hurting.

A journey to find Lucinda, the fairy who cursed her, leads to adventures , and finally the remarriage of her father puts Ella into the Cinderella story, as Ella becomes the unwilling servant of her stepmother and stepsisters because of so called ”Gift of obedience” by fairy.  Prince Char is in love with Ell but she cant marry him.There is a fairy god mother for Ella, who is that? How can she break the curse on her? Will she marry Prince Char?

I found this story interesting because it was brilliant way of telling fairy tale according to this generation style. I liked all the mythical creatures in the story and concept of different tongues. Over all its a enjoyable story. I am going to watch the movie”Ella Enchanted” based on this novel soon.

Comments
  1. Balu says:

    Nice review and I like fairytales.
    I will watch that movie too 🙂

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks.. I don’t know about movie, I have to watch it.. But book is good. If u are interested in fairy tales, then this is the book to read 🙂

  2. bookslist says:

    The book is so much better than the movie! The movie almost has nothing to do with the book. I’m a big fan of fairy tales, so I really enjoyed the book when I read it (all 7 times)!

  3. Deepika says:

    Oh My god 7 times! I can guess how much you like fairy tales 🙂
    I know most of the novel based movies always disappoint. Still I will try watching this one. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. Sammie McGee says:

    I’ve also read the book multiple times. It is one of my favorites ever, and it is my favorite by this author, followed by The Two Princesses of Bamarre. This book is so clever, and Char is so cute! 😛

    The movie is good, but in it’s own way. It’s more comedic than the book, and kind of turns into a musical. I love Anne Hathaway, so the movie was good, but it cannot compare to the book.

  5. Deepika says:

    Oh! then I will have to watch the movie soon 🙂
    Even I found Char very cute and matured kind of character in this book. He so adorable!
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts here.

  6. Jacklyn Belo says:

    .just found out that Anne Hathaway’s Ella Enchanted came from a book… that’s a new discovery 🙂

  7. This was my absolute favorite book when I was younger! This actually makes me want to pull it out and read it again! The movie was pretty disappointing though, not a very good adaptation of the book 😦

Leave a Reply

