Revolution 2020 by Chetan Bhagat

Posted: March 15, 2012 in Fiction
Tags: , ,

I have read all his books, and I just couldn’t leave this book without reading. I have enjoyed his writing and I feel it stands out among other Indian Novels with different type of presentation. I liked his previous novel ” 2 States” and was expecting better. This is the first time I have read a book which is inspired by Bollywood movies and not the other way round ( wait! may be I can  say second time becuase I have already read “Anything for you Mam” by Tushar Raheja).

Revolution 2020 revolves In Varanasi where river Ganga washes everybody’s sin. Gopal Mishra is madly in love with a girl called Arathi from his school days and struggling to tell his feelings to her becuase she keeps sending mixed signals and keep saying the word “friends”. When he is away for a while she falls in love with his friend Raghav who is rebellion and want to change the corrupted country from the scratch. But after coming back Gopal gets involved in corrupted system. Is it fight for rights and against corruption or fight to get the same girl? Whom will Arathi choose, a person who is corrupted and gives into  corrupted system or the person who is fighting against the same system? Who is a good person here?

I had lot of expectations on this book but it turned out to be an average book. His books really do is to bring Bollywood home. Some scenarios are exactly make you feel as if you are reading a movie script. I hope to read better books in future from this author.

Comments
  1. manojuchila says:

    I have read all Chetan Bhagat’s novels. Yes….this story plot perfectly suits to a movie script. Even I can rate this as an average book….

  2. keshavprashanth says:

    It is a fun read, typical Chethan Bhagat style. According to me out of all chethan bhagat novels, ‘5 point someone’ is the best. None of his later books could match his first novel.

  3. Deepika says:

    Yes! I liked ”5 point someone” and ”2 states”. But this one I didn’t find that interesting 🙂

  4. Thanks for liking my blog, Hav u read “Palace of Illusions” It is really a good read, especially if you like mythology..
    To be frank I liked “5 point something” and “2 states” better than this one… This was more like a Bollywood types.. :p

  5. Deepika says:

    Yes, I have heard about that book a lot, I am interested in exploring all type of books. Mythology is really interesting. Thanks for suggesting, I will definitely read it soon. I agree with you about “5 point someone” and “2 states” being better than his “Revolution2020”. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your view 🙂

  6. Sheersh says:

    Yep. You are right, book is average and may be below average considering other books of same author. Thing which set me off was the title of the book. Is this only coincidence that book is having title as “revolution” “2020” and having no relevance with both of the things while both were current affairs when book was launched…

  7. easyondeyes says:

    This book was such a disappointment!!!

Leave a Reply

