The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (Hunger Games, #1)

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Fiction, Young Adults
Tags: , , , , , ,

I can’t believe i didn’t read this book till now!  But finally when I did it I couldn’t put it down. I finished reading entire book in 2 days. I have no words to explain the joy I felt while reading the book. I wish these books were around when I was young.

The book is about a girl, Katniss from district 12, who volunteers to be the contender in the Hunger Games in order to save her little sister. The games are horrible you can call it as  “punishment” set by The Capitol  and is a fight to the death by chosen children from each of the 12 districts. There can be only one survivor, which means either she dies, or she kills 23 other kids. Among these other contenders is Peeta, a boy who Katniss feels soft cornered and feels that she owes a little debt already. Its her fight throughout the book to win and rebel against The Capitol who dont value poor people’s life. In between she is confused about her feelings for Peeta whether its care or love?

I recommend everyone to get a chance to read it becuase its  an absolutely phenomenal novel. I can’t wait to read book two, and find out what happens next. And I cant wait to watch the movie which is going to release this month 23rd, hopefully its going to be as  good as the book.

Comments
  1. am1ec says:

    I waited til last month to read this 2..such a great book. I literally could not put it down 🙂

  2. Sandie says:

    I loooooved this book. Haha. Are you reading Catching Fire now? 🙂

    • Deepika says:

      No, I haven’t started reading yet, I have other books waiting! But I will read it soon, may be next month. I badly want to read remaining books and know the story 🙂

  3. keshavprashanth says:

    The review makes me add this book to the ‘to read’ list. I will pick a copy..
    Many thanks.

  4. Jacklyn Belo says:

    I’ve seen the movie trailer but I did not find it engaging. But after reading your review, i guess it’s a fun read thinking that it only takes two days to finish the book 🙂

    • Deepika says:

      Usually I find novels better than movies, but there are some movies I think are as good as novels. I hope this Hunger games movie will not disappoint me, I have lot of expectations for this one. I took only 2 days to read the book becuase I couldn’t put it down. You should give a try its worth reading 🙂

  5. ze says:

    Yeah, I wish the movie will be as great as the book 🙂

  6. imagineastylishworld says:

    Omgggg I love love LOVE the Hunger Games. You have no idea. I read them about a year ago after I saw a friend reading them, and now I’m like the ultimate hunger games fan. I’m going to see the movie Friday! I’m so psyched!
    Good review, btw. 🙂

  7. Pragya says:

    I still have to get to this one.

  8. Deepika says:

    Its amazing.. I highly recommend this book to people who love reading. You should try this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

