Its been a long time that I read “real horror or real Vampire” novel. I am tired of reading same horror novels about Vampire falling in love with human, or a werewolf or a witch or what not?  Finally got a real Classic, Vampire, Gothic novel to read. Thanks to this post I found in a blog I follow- Freepagenumbers after reading this I wanted to read a real horror novel.

Dracula is an 1897 vampire novel written by an Irish author Bram Stoker. This novel is narrated in the form of letters or diary entries in that way reader will know what every character feels or thinks. Here Dracula is not sexist as we read other vampires are. May be becuase its  written in 1897, there is not much about romance.

 When Jonathan goes to the countryside of Transylvania to meet up with noble man Count Dracula to discuss about business, he realizes that what you hear as horror stories aren’t stories but real. He learns that castle of Dracula is full of horrifying things and he is a prisoner there. Dracula travels to England by leaving him with his women, who are equally horrifying and undead. From there the real story starts. How Jonathan’s fiance Mina, her friends are involved ? What Dracula wants? How can they hunt him down? How Jonathan can escape from three blood sucking vampire women? To know all these you should read “Dracula”. I am in love with this book  and I got nightmares about this as well ( may be few will find it as little over acting but I really got horrifying dreams 🙂 ) for a while I am in no mood to read any vampire novel and spoil the taste of this wonderful book ( may be I am over acting now 🙂 )

I watched the movie as I always do  most of the time after reading a book. Movie directed by Francis Ford Coppola in 1992 . Its a new version of Dracula. It tells an additional story how “Dracula” became vampire. Mina was revealed here to be the Count Dracula’s greatest love, which is not part of Stoker’s original ( I liked the original concept better than this one). Its completely different than the book. May be I should try watching old versions, Nosferatu,  Tod Browning’s version (1931), Hammer Films version ( 1958).

Comments
  1. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Nandasiri Wanninayaka says:

    I won Dracula novel out of a competition organized by Sunday Times, Sri Lanka. I read the novel twice. It is that interesting. The way you brings back the memories of Dracula is entertaining.

  3. manojuchila says:

    I watched this movie. I liked it very much & the concept, imagination parts were very good.

  4. Shannon says:

    I LOVEEEE Dracula. So much better than anything being offered to us today in the way of vampire lore…except for the series by Guillermo del Toro (the first book is the Strain)…vampires are supposed to be scary. Period. I tried watching the Francis Ford Coppola film, but I just couldn’t deal with it. He’s a famous director and all, but sheesh it was just kind of bad in my opinion. I’ve seen a ballet production of Dracula that was just fabulous as well.

  5. I read Dracula as a teenager. My room was on the far wing of the house, with a sliding door opening onto the porch, and the book scared me enough to get a clove of garlic to rub around the door frame each night. I sharpened a piece of a tree branch and kept it on my nightstand. I don’t think I’ve ever read a more frightening book, though several by Stephen King come close in creepiness.

    I agree with you on the glut of vampire romance novels. I cannot read them. You might want to check out a blog post I wrote, “Back when vampires were vampires,” ( http://wp.me/pYql4-1qA ), where I talked about several classic vampire movies. I do think Nosferatu captures the frightening nature of Bram Stoker, and I have also found Carl Dreyer’s, 1932 movie, “Vampyr,” very eerie too, though I agree with several other bloggers, that it doesn’t really have much of a plot.

    Great post about a great book.

    • Deepika says:

      Thanks! I will definitely check your blog post. I completely understand why you kept garlic cloves becuase I experienced nightmares after reading the book. May be I could have done the same thing as a teenager 🙂 I know how scary it is!

  6. ReLoveables says:

    I agree completely with the above comments about vampires should be scary! I love Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I liked the book being written as a series of letters and diary entries, it made it seem all the more real, and thus scarier. I have not heard of the Guillermo del Toro series. I’ve really liked several of his movies and will definitely check out the books. If you have not read any other old Gothic novels and you enjoyed this one, you should check out some others. Some have romance, some don’t, but all are scary and creepy in a way that vampire lore novels of today don’t do.

    • Deepika says:

      Yes true! Today’s vampire novels are boring with same concept. I will definitely read some old, Vampire and Gothic novels. Thanks for sharing your view.

  7. chalicemoon says:

    Old Drac takes some beating! As a vampire fan – I still think it’s the best…………

  8. chalicemoon says:

    Meant to say – thank you for liking my photos at gallerycatsandhens!

  9. almostartist says:

    I think I have to reread Dracula, since I remember enjoying it but only have the recent movie version in my head (which I also love much thanks to Gary Oldman)

    In regards to scary I recall reading Salem’s Lot by Stephen King and being very creeped out

  10. Rawclyde! says:

    I finally got around to reading Stoker’s classic tale recently & I’m 61 years old now. Whew ~ sure glad I got to this one before I leap beyond the veil. Curiously the character Mini in the book looked to me just like Winona Ryder in the movie. I’m glad I know the original Drac now. You got a real fine blog here ~ you probably already know that…

Leave a Reply

