Very late for the review! I know, I wanted to read this book long back but some how kept saying to myself ”Later”. I never read any of Dan Brown’s books before. I should say his style of writing is different. Even though this  is historical, scientific friction and thriller novel I caught myself laughing sometimes 🙂

I dont know how accurate is  the information given in this novel but for the first time I came across the word ”Illuminati”. I was not aware of crusades and hassassian things mentioned in the book. While reading the book I searched all the information and read it in between. I was only aware of Indian history and some war in Afghanistan, Kabul, and Bangladesh. So I had to read Vatican history a bit.

Coming to the story,  Robert Langdon, professor of religious iconology and art history at Harvard University is called by Maximilian Kohler, the director of CERN, world’s largest scientific research center to meet him about “Illuminati”. Lenoardo Vetra created the antimatter to simulate the Big Bang but somebody murdered him and stole it form him leaving an “Illuminati” brand on his murdered body. Then Langdon travels to Vatican city  along with Dr. Vetra’s daughter Vittoria Vetra when they get the news that stolen canister is in Vatican city. But Vatican city with the recent death of the Pope, the cardinals of the Catholic Church are all within the city for the conclave to choose the new pope. Langdon and Vittoria Vetra have to find out four kidnaped cardials and locate the canister by tracking the hassassian murderer. How will they find where the murder is going to happen? How can they locate the Canister? Who is behind this? What is this “Illuminati” and its brotherhood?

Even though this was interesting story I speed read it sometimes skipping the explanation about interiors of the place and the conversation between BBC news team. Immediately after reading I watched movie and i was disappointed,they completely ruined the concept.  There was no importance for Hassassian  and most of the characters are changed and even the concept was changed accordingly. There was nothing related to the book.

Comments
  1. It’s been a while since I read that book but I enjoyed it. I don’t think I loved it, but I liked it a lot. I haven’t seen the movie, but my husband said it wasn’t good.

  2. I don’t know if you’ve read Brown’s, “The DaVinci Code,” the book he wrote after “Angels and Demons,” but to me, that’s where he really hit his stride. Compelling action/adventure and content, based legends and fragments of gnostic texts that were suppressed by official Christianity, but never completely disappeared. I couldn’t put it down.

    That made me all the more disappointed in his third book, “The Lost Symbol,” which suffered from an implausible, two dimensional villain, and way, way, way too much backstory. Speed-reading skills would have helped!

  3. I’ve always enjoyed Dan Brown’s books. Angels and Demons was good, although I too thought The DaVinci Code was better. The illustrated edition was worth the extra money since it had pictures of all the works of art and places they visited.

    I never saw the Angels and Demons movie, but the DaVinci Code movie was not good, so I didn’t have high hopes for this one.

    • Deepika says:

      I definitely want to read DaVinci Code. I haven’t watched that movie yet. Will read it first before watching becuase books are always better than movies! Thanks for sharing your view 🙂

  4. Simon says:

    (as you know since you read my review) I didn’t think the book or the movie were very good. Someday, when I have the courage and time, I’ll read The Illuminati Trilogy. It’s a giant book that I bought about 4 years ago and it’s apparently an amazing conspiracy novel. I’m just constantly intimidated to start reading it since it’s so big!
    Keep on reading and thanks for dropping by my blog!

  5. Veronica says:

    Hi! Thanks for liking one of my posts. 🙂

    I enjoyed this book too, I think I read it some years back. I’ve read all of Dan Brown’s books but A&D is my favourite (and the best imo)! The film was okay, not terrific but better than the movie adaptation of Da Vinvi Code for sure.

  6. I too feel Dan Brown’s style of writing and his genre is not something that entirely appeals to me, as a result, haven’t any of his novels (Yes, NOT even Da Vinci Code :D)
    But the more I see it everywhere, the more i think i should give it a reading at least once. Reading your review is confirming my suspicions though 😉

  7. lisislu says:

    I don´t know why, but I always think that Dan Brown is a second Ken Follett with a higher religious impact and less Second World War.

    Meteor is also quiet good (and it´s not dealing with religion) and I think this was D.B. first book. But I’m not quiet sure weather this is the English title or only the German.

    btw: Thanks for the like!

Leave a Reply

