My sister’s keeper by Jodi Picoult

Posted: February 11, 2012 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , ,

My Sister KkeeperI never read any book of  Picoult before, I started reading this last week ( Nights in Rodanthe still half read ) and found it very interesting. As soon as I finished reading I knew what to do. yes! get more books of same author. I got two books- Picture perfect and House rules  🙂

My Sister’s Keeper is about a young girl, Anna, who was conceived in order to be a donor for her older sister Kate.  Anna is welcomed by her parents to this world just to donate her blood, organs and tissue to her elder sister who is struggling to live with Leukemia. Anna cant live her own life because she may needed any time at hospital if her sister gets sick. Finally Anna decides to file a case against her family when she comes to know that she will have to donate a kidney to her sister Kate, who is about to die without it.

What will happen to Anna’s decision?  How her parents will react when they come to know about it? Will she succeed? What will happen to her sister Kate, will she survive? I liked the way author described everybody’s point of view. Its not  only about Anna, when you read it you will know what everyone feels about it. Amazing way of expressing the feelings. I had my tissues out fully prepared, but to my surprise the ending I had expected never came. I hated Sara’s character here. She only cared out her sick daughter Kate by completely neglecting Anna and Jesse. I didn’t expect the depressing ending. But overall it stands as a  good book. Worth reading once.

Comments
  1. I’ve got a few of Jodi’s books I haven’t read yet and one is House Rules. I don’t have My Sister’s Keeper. Glad to know it’s good. I’ve been told I write a bit like Jodi, which is why I bought a few of her books. I really need to read and see what they mean….

  2. This is one of my favourite books and coincidentally, the first book by Jodi Picoult that I read too. Picture Perfect and House Rules are also brilliant. You must also read Perfect Match, Nineteen Minutes and Salem Falls. I have all her books but these remain my favourites. I’ve read My Sister’s Keeper thrice and cried every single time!

    • Deepika says:

      Sure will try to read more from this author. I was expecting to cry more when I read My sister’s keeper but somehow I felt bad only for Anna and cried only for her. Others seemed kinda selfish to me.
      Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  3. I didn’t know there’s a book!..I just watched the movie but i’d really want to read the book though because most of the time they tend to cut a lot of interesting scenes from the book..

  4. The Voyager says:

    I’ve always wanted to read this book. I don’t read much of this genre, but I really need to start to. Thanks for the review!

  5. Adora says:

    This too was the first book I read of Jodi Picoult’s and LOVED it. I went on to read a couple others and enjoyed The Pact but was disappointed with The Tenth Circle. You should watch the movie, so sad, have your tissues ready.

  6. MakeSomethingMondays says:

    I LOVED this book. Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors and she always blows my mind in the last three pages. The book is sad, unfortunately, but it is a real wake up call to those of us who were unaware of such things ever happening.

    Don’t watch the movie if you haven’t already. It has a different ending and it ruins the story 😦

  7. ReLoveables says:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed several Jodi Picoult books. I highly recommend Plain Truth, Mercy, Salem Falls, and Nineteen Minutes. I really like her writing style and find it easy to get lost in her books. It often feels like I’m leaving behind friends and family when I finish the book.

  8. Deepika says:

    Thanks for recommendation.. I will surely read those books 🙂

  9. very strong subject! will read it.

  10. easyondeyes says:

    Ooooh!! Sounds interesting!!

Leave a Reply

