A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Posted: January 16, 2012 in Fiction
Tags: , ,

This is one of the best books I have ever read. I was so eager to read this book after reading   ”The Kite runner”. Almost 3 months back I read this book.

The story begins in the 1970’s with Mariam, the illegitimate daughter of a housemaid. Mariam and her mother are forced to live out skirts of village by Mariam’s  dad and his wives. With her mother’s death, the teen-aged Mariam is forced into marriage with Rasheed, an abusive stranger. More than 20 years later, in the midst of war, Rasheed takes another teenaged wife, the recently orphaned, Laila. Who is born and brought up in all modern circumstances, unlike Marim.
Even though Mariam hates her in the beginning, then she starts to feel comfortable with her and they are like only hope left for each other. What will happen to Laila and Mariam? Will they get away from abusive Rahed? How their life takes twists? What is their pain? To know answers you will have to read this book.

I really enjoyed his second book. I was wondering could he manage to write better than Kite runner? But I should say here that its an excellent work. Its like I am seeing these characters from other culture and society, learning their way of living. I felt their pain and felt their happiness. It is so real and heart touching.

Comments
  1. Nicole says:

    This and Kite Runner were probably 2 of the best I’ve ever read as well. It’s not that they’re really “fun” to read but seeing another culture so clearly is eye-opening and fascinating. I try to cross read and that’s how I came upon these books. I definitely think they belong on everyone’s “must-read” list. Actually- “must-own.”

  2. Deepika says:

    I second your thought. Its really wonderful feeling to read and know another culture.

  3. I’m glad I read your review! I loved the Kite Runner and bought this book, then let it sit for years for fear it wouldn’t be half as good as his first one. I think I’ll read Thousand Splendid Suns at last – thank you!!

  4. Roshni says:

    A Thousand Splendid Suns is a book I read with lot of expectations, since I had loved The Kite Runner. And I should say Khaled Hosseini has gone far beyond what I had expected. I loved the book. It touched me in so many ways and I felt so connected to Mariam and Laila. Good review!!

  5. Thanks for this post and review. I love both books by Khaled Hosseini very much, different stories but each of them touched me deeply.

  6. Deepika says:

    Yes. Those two are wonderful books.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  7. Pragya says:

    Ah, I loved this book too. 🙂

  8. magnifylife says:

    I’m in the middle of reading The Kite Runner, and I’m glad to see that Hosseini’s other book is great as well! I can’t wait until I can start A Thousand Splendid Suns 🙂

  9. Deepika says:

    Happy reading.. I am sure you will enjoy reading both the books 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog!

  10. Nova says:

    Hey Deepika, thanks for dropping by my blog… I absolutely love this book. Check out my review on the same: http://worldthrumyeyes.wordpress.com/2008/05/04/book-review-a-thousand-splendid-suns/

Leave a Reply

