The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Fiction
Tags: ,

Khaled Hosseini’s first novel – The kite runner.The novel is about a young boy named Amir who lives in a wealthy neighborhood of Kabul in the early 1970s. His best friend is Hassan, the son of his father’s servant, Ali, both of them are close in age. Every winter, they take part in Kabul’s kite flying contest, where the winner not only has the last kite flying but also is able to  collect the last kite to fall. One such incident will lead to some unexpected turnings.

Amir always feels that his dad doesn’t love him, for getting his attention he tries his level best. One day he commits a mistake which will haunt him throughout the life.  Even though he comes far from everything and starts a new life he always has something in his heart unfinished. One day he will go back and will correct his mistake. A wonderful story about war and humanity.

An amazing concept, truly I dont have any words to describe the book. I totally  loved this novel. After reading this book I so wanted to see Kabul and the places related to this story. I am sure one day will visit to all these places.

I read it last year I am glad I did 🙂 I borrowed this book from one of my friend. But later he asked me to keep this book becuase I was in love with this book 😉

This is a must read book if you want to have a wonderful experience of reading. So readers out there, go grab a copy and start reading…..

Comments
  1. Sandie says:

    I’ve had a copy of this book for the longest time; just haven’t made time to read it. But I will soon! Hehe. Also, I love your blogs! We both share a love for nail polish and books. Thanks for dropping by my blog. Cheers 😀

    • Deepika says:

      Yeah:) true..we both share love for similar things. ‘Kite runner’ is a good book if you want to know about diffrent culture and people. So happy reading .. Cheers 🙂

  2. Roshni says:

    One of my favourite books ever!!! LOVED it!!!!

  3. Nicole Chardenet says:

    I thought it was an excellent book. Especially since the “villain” (no spoilers here) mostly comes from within the main character. But oh man, what a depressing view of Afghanistan…then again I doubt there’s any such thing as a positive book about Afghanistan, at least since James Michener’s effort lo those many years ago. Hosseini’s Thousand Splendid Suns was also a good read but even more depressing than Kite Runner. In fact, pretty much every novel that comes out of the Middle East is depressing. Are there any *positive* ME novels out there?

  4. Pragya says:

    I liked this one too.. 😀

  5. agujasblog says:

    I too, like another reader of this post, have had this book on my shelf for a long time but have yet to read it. Perhaps it is because I know what is to happen in the book and know it will impact me strongly. I will let you know when I read it. Keep sharing your thoughts on books – what a great idea for a blog! And thanks for liking my review of The Boy in the Suitcase on my blog.

Leave a Reply

